Neil Curnow Award

Presented in partnership with the Independent Arts Foundation

Standing amongst the Neil Curnow alumni is really, really exciting. So many South Australian artists I really respect and admire have started their practice with the aid of this initiative and I know the residency and training Helpmann have helped me curate will really lift my practice.”
Eliza Oliver, 2018 Neil Curnow Award winner

“Winning the 2017 Neil Curnow award is going facilitate the most exciting opportunities of my professional career thus far. The Helpmann Academy has been an enormous support to me since I graduated from Adelaide College of the Arts, giving me the opportunity to undertake projects and training that would never have been possible without their backing.”
Clara Solly-Slade, 2017 Neil Curnow Award winner

“I am so humbled and grateful to be given this incredible opportunity. I am determined to make the most of it and bring back a wealth of knowledge to launch my career forward in South Australia.”
Abbie Johnstone, 2016 Neil Curnow Award winner

The Neil Curnow Award is available to final-year students and graduates aged 30 and under. The purpose of the award is to support an emerging artist to undertake further study or career development in acting/theatre performance or direction.

The award is made possible through the generous bequest of the late Neil Curnow, an extraordinary man of the theatre based in Adelaide. Following his impressive career as an actor, director, teacher and voice coach, Neil made a bequest through the Independent Arts Foundation to support emerging South Australian theatre people through this prestigious award.

Valued at up to $7,000, the award supports the recipient to undertake further study or an internship at a recognised institution. The award is facilitated by the Helpmann Academy on behalf of the Independent Arts Foundation.

For more information:
Contact Helpmann Academy on (08) 7089 0720 / [email protected]

Image: Clara Solly-Slade, recipient of the 2017 Neil Curnow Award at Working Classroom in New Mexico. Photo courtesy of the artist.

Presented in partnership with the Independent Arts Foundation.

IAF logo.jpg


2019 | Lachlan Barnett, Flinders University
2018 | Eliza Oliver, Flinders University
2017 | Clara Solly Slade, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2016 | Abbie Johnstone, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2015 | Rebecca Mayo, Flinders University
2014 | Kate Cheel, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2013 | Jhon Bedoya Mendez, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2012 | Charles Sanders, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
(Click on the link to view a short video clip)
2011 | Ellonye Keniri, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2010 | Krystal Brock, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2009 | Bianca Kostic-London, Flinders University
2008 | Maria Dafneros, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2007 | Sarah John, AC Arts (TAFE SA)
2006 | Hew Parham, Flinders University
2005 | Emma Beech, Flinders University