• Rebecca Read, Storm Over Clare

Wilson Vineyard Label Commission

The Helpmann Academy is delighted to be partnering with the Wilson Vineyard to offer the Wilson Vineyard Label Commission, now in its 6th year.

The Wilson Vineyard in the Clare Valley is seeking to commission a South Australian visual artist for the label artwork on their Wilson Vineyard Polish Hill River Riesling. This top of the range wine is widely distributed nationally and internationally.

Artists are invited to submit up to 10 artworks for selection. The selected work will be used on the label of the 2017 vintage of this award winning wine.

The selected artist will receive full credit on the wine label, and their original work will be acquired for display at the winery’s popular Cellar Door. The artist will receive a cash component of $1,000 and 1 dozen 2017 Polish Hill River Riesling (valued at $348) for the acquisition of the piece and the rights for future reproduction.

This opportunity brings a great deal of exposure for the artist, together with the invaluable experience of working on a commercial commission.

Eligible artists will be final year students or graduates (within 5 years of graduation) from Adelaide College of the Arts (TAFE SA/Flinders University) or the University of South Australia.

Artists practicing in different mediums are encouraged to submit up to 10 works for consideration. A wide variety of works will be considered, using the following guidelines:

  • Works with bright contrasting colours or images
  • Landscape or portrait orientation
  • Strong feature elements
  • Works don’t need to directly reference wine or the Clare region

For examples of winning labels from previous years, visit The Wilson Vineyard website.

For more information:
Contact Nadia Dolman 7320 3330 / [email protected]

Presented in partnership with Wilson Vineyards


Applications for the 2017 commission closed on
Friday 9 June 2017.

Congratulations to Bruce Marquis, recipient of the
2017 Wilson Vineyard Label Commission.

Previous winners:
2016 | Rebecca Read
2015 | Juliette Rajak
2014 | Clare Vaughan
2013 | Kristian Mumford
2012 | Kelly Jade King