Creative Relief Fund recipients

23 June 2020

The Helpmann Academy has awarded $20,000 to 25 emerging artists from a range of creative disciplines through the first stage of the Creative Stimulus Grants Scheme

Just a few of the needs met through the Creative Relief Fund initiative include the creation of a puppet for a web-series on preserving Australian ecology, studio rent relief for a number of artists, the creation of a website to help launch an online shop and essential equipment to diversify creative output.

Emerging visual artist Danny Jarrett received funds toward an essential upgrade on his computer to extend the work he does in the online space.

He said, “The Creative Relief Fund really helped me to keep making despite the loss of artistic opportunities and my day job. As a result, I’ve been able to create more innovative work than before.”

Emerging theatre-maker and puppeteer Lachlan Barnett will be using his $1,000 funds to finish the creation of a puppet for web series he is developing.

He said, “2020 was meant to be my biggest year yet. In a matter of days, however, the pandemic caused a calendar full of puppetry tours to be wiped clean. Thanks to Helpmann Academy and their donors through the Creative Relief Fund, I have been able to commission a new puppet of my own. This vital equipment has allowed me to focus on creating independent online content and diversified my practice while theatres remain closed.”

Congratulations to all the recipients.

The Creative Development Fund is the next stage in Helpmann Academy’s Creative Stimulus Grants Scheme. Applications open on Friday 31 July 2020. Find out more.

Creative Relief Fund recipients

Kathryn Adams
Eleanor Amor
Lachlan Barnett
Nerida Bell
Steven Bellosguardo
Lewis But-Husaim
Neville Cichon
Anastasia Comelli
Lisa Furno
Abby Hampton
Jamie Hornsby
Danny Jarratt
Simone Linder-Patton
Alice Marsh
Jennifer Matthews
Chloe Noble
Adam Ovadia
Emile Pearson
Nat Penney
Izabella Shaw
Brianna Speight
Sofia Torchia
Nelya Valamanesh
Stella Vanska
Ella-Maude Wilson